2017 MusicNL Awards at the SJCC

Congratulations to all award winners & nominees at MusicNL’s 25th Anniversary Award Show last night at the St. John’s Convention Center. The big winners were Janet Cull, The Kubasonics and Steve Maloney with 3 awards each!

Janet Cull won Album of the Year, Pop/Rock Artist & Female Artist. The Kubasonics won Entertainer of the Year, Group of the Year, and Folk/Roots Artist. Steve Maloney won Songwriter of the Year, Alternative Artist, and Country Artist.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Glen Tilley, former CBC Radio producer, with a truly astounding resume of activities.

The evening was a celebration of MusicNL’s 25 year anniversary with a great show hosted by Alan Doyle & featuring performances by Janet Cull, Steve Maloney, Amelia Curran, The Once, The Fortunate Ones, Kubasonics, Shanneyganock, Cordeen, The Novaks, & a band comprising original founding members of MusicNL: John Hutton, Glen Tilley, Sandy Morris, Geoff Dyer, & Denis Parker.

There were vivid speeches by long-time executive director Denis Parker, John Hutton, and industry veterans.

Fred’s Records would like to give props to Fred Brokenshire, founder of Fred’s Records and original founding member of MusicNL.

Congratulations to MusicNL for their 25 year contribution to the music community of this province, its huge role in the creation of a bona fide music industry and the support they give to our talented musicians.

Special thanks to Executive Director Glenda Tulk and her team for all their work and a great evening.

To support any of our wonderful artists, all winners’ and nominees’ recordings are available at Fred’s Records!