View Cart “Navigators – Soldiers and Sailors” has been added to your cart.
Layout 1

Alan Doyle – Boy on Bridge


1. Sorry
2. I've Seen a Little
3. My Day
4. Where the Nightingales Sing
5. Testify (feat. Colin James)
6. Break it Slow
7. Love While Love's Awake
8. Light the Way
9. Northern Plains (Feat. Jim Cuddy)
10. Lover's Hands
11. Perfect Excuse
12. The Rules Will All Be Broken
13. Where I Belong

SKU: 0253700354 Category: Tags: ,

Product Description

Known famously as the charismatic and high octane front man for Newfoundland’s own Great Big Sea, Alan Doyle has waited 20 years to release his solo debut. “Boy on a Bridge” is a collection of originally and co-written songs (Co-writers include Oscar winning Actor Russell Crowe and Grammy winner Gordie Sampson). It also features some Canadian musical heavyweights including, Jim Cuddy of Blue Rodeo, Hawksley Workman and Colin James. The album is somewhat of a departure from the sound and genre that has become synonymous with GBS but it still maintains the vitality and the immediately familiar voice. Doyle takes a reflective stance on his solo record. He has certainly lived an exciting life and in his first single, “I’ve Seen a Little”, he implores that he still has so much more to see and do. He is happy but not satisfied and knows there is still so much for him to accomplish. He is heartfelt and it comes through on this album. There is a definite pop rock quality to the majority of the album and it is filled with catchy choruses and tuneful hooks. It is a well-produced record that pays important attention to Alan’s voice which is, undoubtedly his strongest instrument.