View Cart “Navigators – Soldiers and Sailors” has been added to your cart.

Colleen Power – Le Bonheur Domestique


1. Mon Copain

2. L’Histoire d’Amour

3. Heureuse pas Riche

4. O Marie (Daniel Lanois)

5. Mes Électroménagers

6. Le Micro-onde

7. Le Cage à Homards

8. Le Soleil Montréalais

9. Le Bonheur Domestique

10. Violette

11. C’est Clare

SKU: 001029 Category: Tags: , , ,

Product Description

After 6 years (has it been that long?) Colleen is back with a new disc of french-language songs. “Le Bonheur Domestique” covers the trials, tribulations and unexpected joy of being a mother in the modern world.
Colleen Power is a survivor, a prime example of endurance. When she debuted in September 2000, she appeared to be on the verge of making a big splash nationally. Ah, but the music industry Gods are fickle and cruel – yet Colleen persisted.  As an outsider she has released a plethora or marvelously diverse and highly enjoyable recordings.

Under the influence of Sinead O’Connor, Colleen fired ahead becoming more favourably compared to the late Kirsty MacColl – distinguishable, recognizable but always on the fringes of the mainstream.


This, her second all french recording is an absolute beauty.  She has always brought her “A game” as a vocalist, rich in character, expression and emotion and her band always features the “cream of the crop” on the local live music circuit.  Featuring an all-star cast, the likes of Duane Andrews, Sandy Morris, Mark Bragg and the ever present Aneirin Thomas on bass.  Canadian folk icon, Fred Eaglesmith drops in on 2 tracks and lest I forget, even kitchen/home appliances and utensils are put to rhythmic use.

“Le Bonheur Domestique” is a truly pleasurable listen.