Ennis – Lessons Learned


1. Constant Companions
2. Newfoundland
3. Sing You Home
4. Carrick-a-rede
5. With You
6. Last Tears
7. I’m Leaving
8. High Up There
9. Cecilia
10. Still Single(s)
11. Until Then
12. Hector the Hero

SKU: 775020982420 Category: Tags: , ,

Product Description

“Lessons Learned” is the first recording in the bands history to feature Maureen and Karen as a duo without the presence of Teresa. With Teresa pursuing a solo career, Karen, Maureen and long time collaborator, Mark Murphy, went into the studio with a mind to focus on the accentuation of two female vocalists as opposed to their traditional three part sound. At the forefront of the record is Maureen Ennis, a marvelous vocalist and guitar player; she also co-writes the majority of the Ennis material with Mark. Karen and Mark round out the vocal sound. The quality and precision of vocal blending has become a trademark aspect of the Ennis sound and it is certainly in fine form on “Lessons Learned”. Lyrically, themes of coming of age and having gained perspective through the living of ones life are prominent. A beautifully touching moment comes by way of the ballad, “I Will Sing You Home”, a glowing and hopeful tribute to a loved one who has passed on. The record is polished and clean and the performance is quite lovely. “Lessons Learned”
gained Ennis the 2011 East Coast Music Award for Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year.