Great Big Sea – Safe Upon the Shore


1. Long Life (Where Did You Go)
2. Nothing But a Song
3. Yankee Sailor
4. Good People
5. Dear Home Town
6. Over the Hills
7. Hit the Ground and Run
8. Safe Upon the Shore
9. Have a Cuppa Tea
10. Wandering Ways
11. Follow Me Back
12. Road to Ruin
13. Gallows Pole
14. Don’t Wanna Go Home

SKU: 2-813179 Category: Tag:

Product Description

“Safe Upon the Shore” is the 11th release from arguably Newfoundland and Labrador’s most successful musical group. True ambassadors for the music and culture of the island, they have been representing our province all over the world for 20 years. Recording for the latest album was split between the now retired Great Big Studio in St. John’s and The Music Shed in New Orleans. This lends itself to a distinct merging of the traditional sound that has become the GBS trademark and a rowdy, southern flare that is characteristically Louisiana. The album also boasts a pretty impressive list of co-writers including Joel Plaskett, Randy Bachman, Russell Crowe, Jeremy Fisher and Paul Lamb. This southern element proves that Great Big Sea are unafraid to venture into uncharted musical territory. If the listener is of the same mind, they will thoroughly enjoy this record.