Joanna Barker – February


01 February
02 Four Oceans Wide
03 Empty Boat at Shore
04 Open Train
05 Blackfoot
06 Whale Song
07 So Good, So Easy
08 Dianne
09 Once Was A Tree
10 Closer (February Reprise)

SKU: 654367029398 Category: Tags: , ,

Product Description

Joanna is one of the newest and most promising young voices in the province. In roughly one year, she has performed live extensively, written an album worth of songs and released her debut album to both critical and popular acclaim. She is a thoughtful lyricist who tackles a number of themes throughout the album. She speaks eloquently of love, loss and her feelings on a dark and real side of our nation’s history. She does so with confidence and great poise. She is a confident lyricist whose voice is smoky and warm. It is airy and light, flowing and seemingly effortless. Fans of Natalie Merchant and Nick Drake will absolutely love this acoustic, folk record. The sound is rounded out nicely by Iliya Nicoll on violin, Jake Nicoll on drums, Ben Rigby on banjo, Dave Bridger on upright bass and Joanna on acoustic guitar. It is a wistful album perfect for early mornings or late nights. A formidable debut to be sure.