Mercury Topaz – Strange Beliefs


1. I Never See Your Face 

2. Bein’ Bad (I’m So Sick)

3. Sex Tourist 

4. Forever (and Never) 

5. Hard Time

6. The Blessing

7. The Misery Thing 

8. Try and Make Sense 

9. Boot Heels 

10. Strange Beliefs

SKU: TOPAZ Category: Tags: , , ,

Product Description

The debut full-length from Kujo front men Victor Lewis and Brad Power. These guys are revered lords on the Newfoundland music scene who seamlessly float between many of  St. John’s best bands – regardless of musical genre. They have a penchant for releasing a lot of music under many names (Vickee lou, Mercury Topaz, The Outfit, Vick & the Hickory Switch, Vic Lou, and Vick E. Lou & Kujo – I think that’s all!) in lo fi homemade packages, most ranging in price from $5 to $10 bucks.  Sometimes it’s swirly psych rock, or tripped out Byrds like 12 string throwback country rock, or an all out rock assault, or a Michael Jacksonesque dance floor killer complete with Van Halen guitar solo… sorta. Mercury Topaz is something altogether different, though. The boys have traded guitar licks for synth loops in an attempt to write a record of cold wave minimal synth pop.